Kenda Williams

freelance writer and journalist – Savannah, Georgia

And a year later… July 26, 2010

Filed under: Newspaper Writing — Kenda Williams @ 3:21 pm
Tags: , , ,

Wow! Has it really almost been a year? My apologies! I have sorely neglected my blog…

A lot has been going on… Here are a few of my writing samples over this past year:

Hugh Dancy to be honored at Savannah Film Festival (I was so excited to interview Mr. Dancy and meet him and his lovely wife, Claire Danes, last fall. His independent film, Adam, was screened at the Savannah Film Fest, and I’m happy to say it was as meaningful and wonderful as Mr. Dancy said it would be!)

Trucks and Tedeschi join forces as one band (After interviewing Susan Tedeschi, I saw her and her husband, Derek Trucks, perform during the Savannah Music Festival. They are such gifted musicians.)

Doggie Carnival Sunday in Forsyth Park to benefit Humane Society (You can’t help but fall for the cute dogs at this event, and it supports an amazing organization.)

Two Savannah chefs share some of their favorite holiday recipes (The two chefs I interviewed here also happen to be two of my favorite people in Savannah – Roberto Leoci of Leoci’s Trattoria and Cheryl Day of Back in the Day Bakery. Roberto and Cheryl really know food and how to please any palate!)

Family raises, produces grass-fed beef (One of Savannah’s favorite grass-fed cattle farms – Hunter Cattle Co. They’re all about doing things the natural way – raising cattle for free range, grass-fed, hormone-free beef.)

Helen Chen offers tips on Asian cooking (It was such a pleasure to speak with Ms. Chen about her cookbook, business endeavors and her background. She has a wealth of knowledge when it comes to Asian cooking. Her mother was a pioneer in the Chinese restaurant business and had her own cookware company. Chen carries on the tradition today.)

Italy-bound soprano to sing for Savannah (Savannah-area resident Rebecca Patrick Flaherty is a delightful, talented vocalist. She is currently studying at the Operafestival di Roma in Italy.)

The Avett Brothers take their blend of bluegrass, indie rock and folk to the Civic Center (I and Love and …The Avett Brothers! This will go down in history as one of my favorite interviews and shows to ever attend. The Avett Brothers’ energy and talent was overwhelming! It was such a thrilling experience to be a part of the audience at this show and to interview bassist Bob Crawford.)

On the Job with Blowin’ Smoke’s meat smoker (I’m originally from central Arkansas – only a few hours from Memphis. Growing up, my family and I took quite a few trips to Memphis to sample their world-famous barbecue. Blowin’ Smoke blew me away the first time I dined there. Their meat is tender, smokey (obviously indicated by the name of the restaurant), and the rub/sauce is  spicy and sweet.)

Flamenco dancer to perform at Rancho Alegre (After learning a little about flamenco dance, song and music, I was convinced this would be something I’d enjoy. After attending the performance and seeing flamenco dancer John Jaramillo in person, I knew that everything I’d previously heard about it was true. It’s an absolutely breathtaking form of dance. It makes me want to visit Mr. Jaramillo’s home state – New Mexico!)

Also published, but not available online:

Several Business in Savannah (BiS) journal cover articles, including a centerpiece/cover story exploring how non-profit organization SaveTheArtsNow helps connect arts organizations with businesses that can support the arts through merchant services; a centerpiece/cover story on Etsy.com and the local microbusiness entrepreneurs who are selling their homemade or vintage goods online at Etsy.

I hope this has given you a taste of what’s been happening lately… 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

