Kenda Williams

freelance writer and journalist – Savannah, Georgia

Mexican Fiesta April 24, 2009

There’s nothing better than making spicy salsa from fresh vegetables straight from the garden or farmers market. When I was in college at the University of Arkansas, I didn’t have a lot of time on my hands to cook between studying and classes. Instead, I sampled salsa around town at local Mexican restaurants and one of my favorite places on Dickson Street, Common Grounds. It’s been years since I’ve had it there, but I still remember the restaurant’s delicious homemade salsa complete with fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, jalapenos and cilantro that could set your mouth on fire but was so delicious.

Over the years, I’ve sampled different salsas all across the country, but I still missed the salsa at Common Grounds. I created a homemade salsa recipe that’s similar to what I had at Common Grounds with just the right combination of spice and sweetness. I included the recipe in my Cinco de Mayo party recipes for Suite 101, which also features my recipes for chicken quesadillas and jalapeno cornbread. Try out my Cinco de Mayo party drinks and desserts for your Mexican fiesta.

 

Leave a Reply

