Kenda Williams

freelance writer and journalist – Savannah, Georgia

What a day! January 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kenda Williams @ 2:51 pm

This is an incredible day in history worthy to celebrate with excitement and anticipation – the inauguration of the 44th president and the first African American to be named president of the United States. I can’t even imagine how joyously overwhelming it must be to attend that momentous occasion. It doesn’t matter if you choose to favor one party over the other or don’t care for politics at all. This is a period of pride and greatness for everyone as an American dream is realized through a very real portion of American history.

As I sit here in my home in Savannah and watch the day unfold on television, I can reflect on what it means for me to be an American and how the sense of pride and accomplishment of the day can be felt even by a 24-year-old girl of Irish and English ancestry who decided to become a writer with hopes of making a difference in the world. I’m not sure what small difference has been made on my account, but that is my hope.

Exactly one month from today, I turn 25. It’s exciting and terrifying at the same time. As I approach my quarter-life birthday, I realize how blessed I have been and how excited I am to be alive today – to witness exciting moments in history and live in this world. Through the good and the bad and everything in between,2009 is a year of historic importance for myself and America as a whole.  I wish everyone great joy this year and all those hereafter!

 

6 Responses to “What a day!”

  1. Patricia Says:

    Oh to be 25 and so optimistic about the future of this country! I’m turning 55 this coming December, and I’m optimistic, but not so much about this country as I am about what God might be doing behind the scenes. Let’s just wait and see ;-). In the meantime, I’m glad that the King of Kings reigns far and above the President of the United States, whoever that might be, and of whatever party that might involve.

    May God continue to BLESS America, and have mercy on her citizens.

    Love your blog! Keep up the great work. Your passion shines through!
    🙂
    (p.s. got the Savannah mag in the mail today! THANKS! Super article on school choices. Such cute kids in the photos, too! Did you get to pick the models?)
    🙂

  2. Cindy Williams Says:

    Kenda, I am so in agreement with you over this historic event. While I do have concerns about some of the more liberal positions President Obama has taken, I am praying for him to be a great leader for our nation. I suspect the weight of the office will pull him to the middle on some things. During an interview on television tonight, one African-American man commented that he thought America would soon forget that President Obama is African-American in the light of his accomplishments. Hopefully, we will, as a nation, forget skin color as a criterion for any job and fulfill Dr. King’s dream.

  3. Beth Robinson Says:

    I have been such a news junkie for the past few days – wanting to make sure that I saw every article and every news report about the inauguration. I was frequently moved to tears by the images and words surrounding this extraordinary event.
    (And Kenda, good luck on the website!!!!)

  4. kendawilliams Says:

    Ha! Well, thanks. I guess I’m just thinking that it’s a neat milestone that we’ve come to in history, and whether or not we like or agree with his stance on issues, it’s pretty neat to witness.
    Thanks for visiting the blog! 🙂

  5. kendawilliams Says:

    Thanks for checking out my site! 🙂
    Nathan and I were watching some of the highlights of the day last night and were both reflecting on what a neat moment in history this is, but at the same time, we’re definitely praying for his wisdom and leadership.
    Hope you and Dan are having a good week!

  6. kendawilliams Says:

    Oh, me too! I’m such a news junkie! 😉 Thanks for visiting my site!


Leave a Reply

